Federer Wins Indian Wells Title

2019 ias preliminary exam test series

Roger Federer won fifth ATP Indian Wells Masters title beating Stanislas Wawrinka.

The Indian Wells Masters, also known as BNP Paribas Open due to sponsorship reasons, is an annual tennis tournament held at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, California, United States.

Federer now joined Novak Djokovic as the only men to win five Indian Wells titles, adding to those he won in 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2012.

At 35, Federer is the oldest ATP player to win one of the elite Masters titles, supplanting Andre Agassi who was 34 when he won in Cincinnati in 2004.

Year Event Winner Looser
2017 Men’s Doubles  Raven Klaasen
Rajeev Ram
 Łukasz Kubot
Marcelo Melo
2017 Women Singles  Elena Vesnina  Svetlana Kuznetsova
2017 Women Doubles  Chan Yung-jan
Martina Hingis
 Lucie Hradecká
Kateřina Siniaková
2017 Men Singles  Roger Federer  Stan Wawrinka

Current Affairs for IAS Exam