First Female Sikh MP Elected in UK

2019 ias preliminary exam test series

Britain got its first female Sikh MP and first turban-wearing MP.

Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi, known as Tan, won his Slough seat decisively polling 34,170 votes, to become Labour’s first turban-wearing MP.

He defeated his Conservative party rival by a whopping 16,998 votes.

Among some of the other Indian-origin contestant results, Conservative party’s Priti Patel has held on to her stronghold of Witham in Essex with a solid majority of 18,646, Alok Sharma has held on to Reading West by 2,876 votes and Shailesh Vara has won in Cambridgeshire North West by 18,008 votes.

Current Affairs for IAS Exam