Mass Communication

2019 ias preliminary exam test series

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting is divided into four wingse., the Information Wing, the Broadcasting Wing, the Films Wing and the Integrated Finance Wing.


  • Prasar Bharati (Broadcasting Corporation of India) is the public service broadcaster in the country, with Akashvani (All India Radio) and Doordarshan as its two constituents.
  • It came into existence on 23rd November 1997, with a mandate to organize and conduct public broadcasting services to inform, educate and entertain the public.
  • The Corporation, is governed by the Prasar Bharati Board, which comprises a Chairman, an Executive Member (also known as Chief Executive Officer), a Member (Finance), a Member (Personnel), six part-time Members, a representative of the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting and Directors General of All India Radio and Doordarshan as ex-officio Members.
  • The Chairman is a part-time member with 3-year tenure subject to an age limit of seventy years.
  • The executive Member is a whole time member with five-year tenure subject to an age limit of sixty five years.


    • The first radio programme was broadcast by Radio Club of Bombay in June I923.
    • It was followed by the setting up of a Broadcasting Service that began broadcasting on 23rd July 1927 on an experimental basis at Mumbai and Kolkata simultaneously under an agreement between Government of India and a private company called the Indian Broadcasting Company Ltd.
    • When this company went into liquidation in 1930, Indian State Broadcasting Service under the Department of “Controller of Broadcasts” was constituted and in 1935.
    • Lionel Fielden was appointed the Controller of Broadcasting in India.
    • The Indian State Broadcasting Service was renamed as All India Radio in January It remained under Department of Communication, Deptt. of I&B, Department of Information and Arts for periods ranging from 1 to 4 years and finally was under the Deptt. of Information and Broadcasting since September 1946.
    • At the time of partition, India had six radio stations (Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Tiruchirapalli and Lucknow) and three radio stations went to Pakistan (Lahore, Peshawar and Dhaka, now in Bangladesh).
    • 1000 KW super power medium wave transmitter each was commissioned at Mogra near Kolkata in 1969 and at Rajkot in 1971.
    • Four 500 KW super power short wave transmitters were inaugurated at Bengaluru in This made it one of the biggest transmitting centres in the world.
    • The first ever FM service was started in Madras on July 23, 1977.
    • All AIR stations were provided with 5 channel receiver terminals in 1985.
    • Multi-track recording studio was commissioned at Mumbai in 1994 and in Chennai in I995.
    • All India Radio came to be known as Akashvani from 1957.
    • AIR took over radio stations being run by native states since British days such as Akashvani Mysore, Hyderabad Radio, and Radio Kashmir etc.
    • From 18 transmitters in 1947, number went upto 584 transmitters by March 2014.
    • The number of radio stations went up from six in 1947 to 403 by March 2014.
    • AIR provides news, music, and other programmes in 22 languages and 146 dialects to almost the entire population of the country.
    • In addition FM Channels i.e. FM Rainbow and FM Gold at Metros cater to the modern needs of the people primarily the youth.
    • The Vividh Bharti has also been shifted to FM mode of broad casting system at 31 places.

[ Click on 1,2,3,… on (below) to Read Full Chapter ]

Current Affairs for IAS Exam