Nepal’s New Prime Minister

2019 ias preliminary exam test series

Nepali Congress Chairman Sher Bahadur Deuba has been elected as 10th Prime Minister of Nepal.

This is the fourth time that Deuba has become the Prime Minister in a country that has seen 25 governments since 1991, and ten in the past ten years of political transition.

Deuba was elected following the resignation of Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Deuba who was the lone candidate for the post secured 388 votes with 170 against in a House with an effective strength of 593. Altogether 35 absented.

Deuba will be heading a multi-party coalition, with the Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist Centre as the second largest constituent after Nepali Congress.

Current Affairs for IAS Exam