Pakistan Supreme Court Disqualifies Prime Minister

2019 ias preliminary exam test series

Pakistan’s Supreme Court five-Judge Bench has disqualified Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif from office. This ruling comes after months of hearings in a case instigated by the “Panama Papers” leaks, related to alleged corruption during his previous two terms in office.

The five-Judge Bench ruled that:

“It is hereby declared that having failed to disclose his un-withdrawn receivables constituting assets from Capital FZE Jebel Ali, UAE in his nomination papers filed for the General Elections held in 2013 in terms of Section 12(2)(f) of the Representation of the People Act, 1976 (ROPA), and having furnished a false declaration under solemn affirmation respondent No. 1 Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif is not honest in terms of Section 99(f) of ROPA and Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, 1973 and therefore he is disqualified to be a Member of the Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament),” the Bench ruled, directing the Election Commission of Pakistan to immediately issue a notification disqualifying Mr. Sharif from being a Member of the Majlis-e-Shoora(Parliament).

Nawaz Sharif has stepped down from his post in accordance with the Supreme Court ruling.

Sharif and three of his children have been referred to a National Accountability court, which has been ordered to register corruption cases against them within six weeks.

The court also referred Ishaq Dar, the finance minister, who has served as Sharif’s accountant in the past, to the corruption court, along with other associates of Sharif.

In 2016, the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists leaked 11.5 million documents from Panama-based law firm Mossack Fonseca, dubbed the Panama Papers.

Several documents included in the leak showed three of Sharif’s children – Hussain, Hasan and Maryam – owned at least three off-shore companies registered in the British Virgin Islands. The documents showed that these companies had engaged in deals worth $25m.

Nawaz Sharif named his brother Shahbaz, the chief minister of Punjab province, as his successor and nominated ex-oil minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as an interim premier.

Election Commission of Pakistan confirmed fresh elections would be held in Nawaz Sharif’s  constituency.

Mr Sharif’s ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz commands a majority in the 342-seat house.

Nawaz Sharif became the 15th prime minister in Pakistan’s 70-year history – roughly half of which was under military rule – to be ousted before completing a full term. Bribery and other forms of graft are endemic in Pakistan.


Took office Left office Political party
Liaquat Ali Khan
14 August 1947 16 October 1951
Muslim League
Khawaja Nazimuddin
17 October 1951 17 April 1953 Muslim League
Muhammad Ali Bogra
17 April 1953 12 August 1955 Muslim League
Chaudhry Muhammad Ali
12 August 1955 12 September 1956 Muslim League
Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy
12 September 1956 17 October 1957 Awami League
Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar
17 October 1957 16 December 1957 Muslim League
Feroz Khan Noon
16 December 1957 7 October 1958 Republican Party
Ayub Khan
24 October 1958 28 October 1958 Independent
Nurul Amin
7 December 1971 20 December 1971 Pakistan Muslim League
Zulfikar Ali Bhutto
14 August 1973 5 July 1977 Pakistan People’s Party
Muhammad Khan Junejo
24 March 1985 29 May 1988 Pakistan Muslim League
Benazir Bhutto
2 December 1988 6 August 1990 Pakistan People’s Party
Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi
6 August 1990 6 November 1990 National Peoples Party
Nawaz Sharif
6 November 1990 18 April 1993 Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Balakh Sher Mazari
18 April 1993 26 May 1993 Pakistan People’s Party
Nawaz Sharif
26 May 1993 18 July 1993 Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Moeenuddin Ahmad Qureshi
18 July 1993 19 October 1993 Independent
Benazir Bhutto
19 October 1993 5 November 1996 Pakistan People’s Party
Malik Meraj Khalid
5 November 1996 17 February 1997 Independent
Nawaz Sharif
17 February 1997 12 October 1999 Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Zafarullah Khan Jamali
23 November 2002 26 June 2004 Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain
30 June 2004 26 August 2004 Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Shaukat Aziz
28 August 2004 15 November 2007 Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Muhammad Mian Soomro
16 November 2007 24 March 2008 Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Yousaf Raza Gillani
25 March 2008 19 June 2012 Pakistan People’s Party
Raja Pervaiz Ashraf
22 June 2012 24 March 2013 Pakistan People’s Party
Mir Hazar Khan Khoso
25 March 2013 5 June 2013 Independent
Muhammad Nawaz Sharif
5 June 2013 28 July 2017 Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Shahid Khaqan Abbasi
1 August 2017 Incumbent Pakistan Muslim League (N)

Current Affairs for IAS Exam