Project Mausam of Ministry of Culture

2019 ias preliminary exam test series

Project ‘Mausam’ is the initiative of Ministry of Culture to be implemented by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) as the nodal agency with research support of the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts (IGNCA) and National Museum as associate bodies.

This project aims to explore the multi-faceted Indian Ocean ‘world’–collating archaeological and historical research in order to document the diversity of cultural, commercial and religious interactions in the Indian Ocean.

It also aims to promote research on themes related to the study of Maritime Routes.

Main objective of the project is to inscribe places and sites identified under Project Mausam as trans-national nomination for inscription on UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

The project was launched in June, 2014 during 38th session of the World Heritage Committee. An SFC was approved in April, 2015 for 2 years i.e. 2015-16 and 2016-17.

Indian mission in identified countries have been requested to identify appropriate authorities/resource person/experts to initiate a dialogue but only a few have responded with necessary information.

The list of countries identified under the project is given below:-

List of 39 Indian Ocean countries identified under Project Museum

1 Bahrain
2 Bangladesh
3 Cambodia
4 China
5 Comoros
6 Egypt
7 Eritrea
8 Réunion, French Department
9 Indonesia
10 Iraq
11 Iran (Islamic Republic)
12 Jordan
13 Kuwait
14 Kenya
15 Lebanon
16 Madagascar
17 Malaysia
18 Maldives
19 Mauritius
20 Mozambique
21 Myanmar
22 Oman
23 Pakistan
24 Philippines
25 Qatar
26 Singapore
27 Sri Lanka
28 Saudi Arabia
29 Seychelles
30 Somalia
31 South Africa
32 Sudan
33 Syrian Arab Republic
34 United Republic of Tanzania
35 Thailand
36 Turkey
37 United Arab Emirates
38 Viet Nam
39 Yemen

Current Affairs for IAS Exam